In defence of…my wardrobe! Day 19

Today's Outfit

If you’re happy and you know it…

We’ve made it to the penultimate week of my New Year’s Resolution to be more fashion-forward. I’m starting to appreciate my wardrobe for the glorious treasure chest it truly is. But, more importantly, this is the point at which I know I’ll probably make it to the end of the challenge. And it feels good. If I’d ever run a marathon, I’d be able to compare it to the final mile without guilt but I won’t insult fit people everywhere by employing the metaphor. I did attempt to take up running once…it didn’t go well. I think my legs are too short.

Well, the bods on the radio keep telling me I’m supposed to be miserable today. It’s the most depressing day of the year, they say. Okay, okay. I’ll try harder…but the problem is I just feel so damned chipper! Sorry about that. I really will try to sink into a pit of despair by tea time.

The reason for my glee might be this dress. It’s the perfect antidote to the Monday blues…or Blue Monday as I think today is traditionally known. Somehow, this Whistles dress makes me feel relaxed and glamorous all at the same time. And it’s far too playful to waste on a bad mood. It just makes me want to skip along, hands in pockets, whistling a merry tune…except adult skipping is generally frowned upon, and my attempts to whistle are usually met with guffaws.

Accessories

Hard-working belt and cuff

This dress was always supposed to be a daily staple…but somehow ended up seldom worn. Probably because it was too short for work and too dressed-up for a saturday on the sofa. But now I’m a stay-at-home Mum (well, I am until the end of February), it’s perfect. Comfortable. Laid-back. Slightly more interesting than the usual chino/t-shirt combination.

Vintage Brooch

The first vintage brooch I ever bought

So, we have the Whistles dress, the John Lewis belt (turning out to be quite a handy buy at £6), the Topshop cuff and another vintage brooch. Well, I did warn you I had a collection. And, finally, the ‘go-with-anything’ Bertie boots.

Now I’m off to watch Schindler’s List, Steel Magnolias and Titanic on a loop until I am appropriately sad.

2 thoughts on “In defence of…my wardrobe! Day 19

Leave a Reply

